NBC Leads TV Critics' Award Nominations

TV Arts

NBC Network leads the annual Television Critics Association Awards with 
13 nominations, including four each for 30 Rock, Friday Night Lights and 

The full list of nominees:

Program of the year: American Idol (Fox), Friday Night Lights (NBC), 
Heroes (NBC), Planet Earth (Discovery), The Wire (HBO) and When the 
Levees Broke (HBO).

Achievement in comedy: 30 Rock (NBC), The Daily Show (Comedy Central), 
Entourage (HBO), The Office (NBC) and Ugly Betty (ABC).

Achievement in drama: Friday Night Lights (NBC), Heroes (NBC), Lost 
(ABC), The Sopranos (HBO) and The Wire (HBO).

Achievement in movies, miniseries and specials: Broken Trail (AMC), 
Planet Earth (Discovery), Prime Suspect (PBS), The State Within (BBC 
America) and When the Levees Broke (HBO).

New program of the year: 30 Rock (NBC), Dexter (Showtime), Friday Night 
Lights (NBC), Heroes (NBC) and Ugly Betty.

Individual achievement in comedy: Alec Baldwin (30 Rock), Stephen 
Colbert (The Colbert Report), America Ferrara (Ugly Betty), Tina Fey (30 
Rock) and Jon Stewart (The Daily Show).

Individual achievement in drama: Connie Britton (Friday Night Lights), 
Kyle Chandler (Friday Night Lights), Michael C. Hall (Dexter), Hugh 
Laurie (House) and Helen Mirren (Prime Suspect).

Achievement in children's programming: Dora the Explorer (Nickelodeon), 
Johnny and the Sprites (Disney Channel), Kyle XY (ABC Family), Lincoln 
Heights (ABC Family) and SpongeBob SquarePants (Nickelodeon).

Achievement in news and information: Baghdad ER (HBO), Bill Moyers 
Journal (PBS), Galapagos (National Geographic), Planet Earth (Discovery) 
and When the Levees Broke (HBO).

Heritage award: M*A*S*H (CBS), Roots (ABC), Sesame Street (PBS), The 
Mary Tyler Moore Show (CBS) and The Sopranos (HBO).

The Career Achievement category also was voted by the TCA's 200-plus 
membership, but the nominees were not disclosed. The winner will only be 
revealed at the ceremony in July.

I'm happy for NBC but some of those other nominations are like The
People's Choice Awards.